Charles Davis Award for Best Graduate Student Presentation at Convention

Deadline for Applications: March 1; Awards Announced: April 1

E-mail your application packet to [email protected]

Charles Davis

Charles Davis, Professor Emeritus of English at Boise State University, served as Executive Director of the Rocky Mountain Modern Language Association for twelve years, from 1985 through 1997. During his tenure, the Association grew significantly in number of members and in prestige, and the Rocky Mountain Review of Language and Literature published articles of great interest to the membership. For his service to the RMMLA and his support of graduate students and young scholars, the Executive Board established in 2000 the "Charles Davis Award for the Outstanding Graduate Student Presentation at the RMMLA Convention."

The Charles Davis Award carries a $250 prize.

Application procedure:

  • Nominations must be made by the Chair of the session in which the student presented. Nominations are sent to the RMMLA Executive Director by November 1.
  • Nominees will be contacted and asked to submit the presentation (written in English only) and a one-page CV BY EMAIL ATTACHMENT to [email protected]no later than March 1 at 11:59 pm. Print applications will not be accepted. The submission should be in traditional paper format. If the presentation was a PowerPoint presentation or similar, copies of the PowerPoint slides must be accompanied by a fairly traditional paper-like narrative.)

E-mail your application packet to [email protected]

The Davis Award Selection Committee is made up of three RMMLA Board members. Selection is based first on the completeness of the application, followed by a ranking based on five criteria: originality of research; scholarly context (reference to current research on topic); mechanics and style; coherent thesis statement; and contribution to scholarship in the field of study. The award will be announced the first week of  April.

RMMLA Executive Board reserves the right to vacate the award in any year that sufficient quantity or quality of submissions is not received by the announced deadline. The Executive Board’s decision will be announced on the website. After the initial acknowledgement of submission, correspondence is not maintained with applicants throughout the process. All application materials must be received by 11:59 pm. Rocky Mountain time on the date of the deadline. Announced deadlines will not be extended.

2021 Award Recipient

Alison Waddy, Murray State University