Sterling Membership in RMMLA is a relatively new, but very important category of membership, one that honors long-term members of RMMLA "who have made significant contributions to any of the fields of language, literature, or related areas of the humanities; who have performed long-term meritorious service to RMMLA, especially by service on the RMMLA Executive Board.

These members have contributed to the growth and success of convention sessions and programs, to the association�s scholarly journal, and to other important association activities. Sterling members receive all benefits of regular membership in RMMLA, along with a permanent waiver of membership dues.

We are proud to honor the following Sterling Members of the Rocky Mountain Modern Language Association (year of induction precedes name):

  • 2015 - Christopher Lupke, Professor and Chair, Department of East Asian Studies, University of Alberta, Edmonton, AB, Canada. [Editorial Board Member and Coordinator of Asian Studies]
  • 2014 ~ David Caldwell, Professor of German, Department of Foreign Languages, University of Northern Colorado [Long-time and loyal RMMLA member, Editorial Board member]

  • 2013 ~ Albrecht Classen, Professor of German, Department of German Studies, University of Arizona

    [RMMLA President 2003, 2009, 2013 and Board member 2001-2002, 2007-2008, 2011-2012]

  • 2012 ~ Joan Grenier-Winther, Professor of French, Department of Foreign Languages and Cultures, Washington State University Vancouver [Executive Director 1998-2012]

  • 2012 ~ Aleksandra Gruzinska, Assistant Professor of French, School of International Letters and Cultures, Arizona State University

    [Long-time and loyal RMMLA member, Board member 2000-2002]

  • 2012 ~ Carmen Sabau, Independent Scholar

    [Long-time and loyal RMMLA member and convention participant.]

  • 2012 ~ Susan McKay,Associate Professor of English, Weber State University

    [Long-time and loyal RMMLA member, Board member 2003-2005]

  • 2008 ~ Raymonde Bulger, Emerita Professor of French, Graceland University (MN)

    [Long-time and loyal RMMLA member and convention participant.]

  • 2008 ~ Lisa Kahn, Emerita Professor of German

    [Long-time and loyal RMMLA member and convention participant]

  • 2007 ~ Victor Castellani, Professor, Department of Languages and Literatures, University of Denver

    [RMMLA President 1984, Board member 1983-1985]

  • 2006 ~ Mimi Gladstein, Professor, Department of Theatre, Film and Literature, University of Texas, El Paso

    [RMMLA President 1982, Board member 1980-1982]

  • 2004 ~ Charles Davis, Professor, Department of English, Boise State University

    [RMMLA President 1983, Board member 1982-1984; Executive Director 1984-1997]